Tags

, ,

A moment to remember

(내 머리 속의 지우개)

Original: Alice
Translation: Dushbadou

84N1UJ2251HH0003Synopsis: A career woman Soo-jin who has everything and was born with a silver spoon in her mouth gets dumped by her already-married boyfriend. She tries to get over him and forget. One day she bumps into a poor carpenter, Cheol-soo whose only goal in life is to become an architect, and she becomes attracted to him. They finally fall in love and get happily married. Now that she thinks she found the right one, she has to face the undeniable fact that she has a disease which is erasing her memories…
source: hancinema

Informations :
Country:
South Korea
Genre: drama, romance
Aired: 2004
Duration: 1h47
Director: John H. Lee
Casting: Son Ye Jin, Jung Woo Sung…

french version


One of the most beautiful movie that I’ve ever seen. And it’s an euphemism.

I think that A moment to remember is the first korean movie (maybe even asian, if we don’t count animated movies) that I’ve watched. I found it by chance one night, while I was surfing on youtube looking for a movie to watch. This one was subtitled and lasted exactly the time I wanted. That night I discovered how much a human can actually cry. I think I’ve never cried as much before. I’m not the kind to cry  easily in front of a movie. Nor laugh for that matter. I keep all my feeling inside of me. But here, I couldn’t hold it in even though I was alone in my bed watching this movie. And yet I fought it!

9757-vertThe story begins well. As luck would have it, Kim Su-Jin and Choi Chul-Soo are in the same place at the same time. Through circumstances as hazarduous as their first meeting -which seemed to be unimportant for both of them- they see each other once again. Once. Then a second time where Kim Su-Jin gives a little help to fate. Rather clumsy and unsure she is easily impressed, while him -more of the truculent charismatic kind- seems to be poised. They have a drink together and this time it’s Choi Chul-Soo that decides to force the hand of destiny. If Kim Su-Jin drinks they date. If she chooses to not drink they remain stranger for the rest of their life. She drinks and their story begins.

They learn to know one another. They love each other. First in a timid way then sincerely. Their story is punctuated by small incidents caused by Kim Su-Jin’s memory. She realises that she starts to forget some things. Some details that grow more and more important and more frequently. The second part of the movie is more gloomy and moving. Kim Su-Jin has Alzheimer’s and nothing can be done to cure her. The strength of the movie resides in the actor’s performance. Son Ye-Jin manages to pass such emotions that we are easily flung to her place even though we are not directly concerned by her case. We live through her, we suffer with her and above all we lose control with her. Jung Woo Sung’s performance is of an incredible accuracy. I’m not surprised of his huge popularity in South Korea, both among the public and the professionals. I admit to have been a bit sceptical at first, when I’ve seen him play the tough and indifferent guy. But the scene in the baseball batting cage (when he has just learnt about Kim Su-Jin’s Alzheimer’s) made me change my mind and totally convinced me. Choi Chul-Soo can gives himself  all the airs he wants with his cigarette in the mouth and his hammer in the pocket: he remains human and falls apart with Kim Su-Jin and us.

A sort of tension prevails in the whole movie. We already know what the story is all about by reading the synopsis and the title. We know what’s going to happen but we don’t know when and how. And we have no idea of how it’s going to end. I liked the movie from the start but in the back of my mind I was expecting the end. I waited the turns of events and I wasn’t disappointed. First there was Kim Su-Jin’s moment of clarity, when she realises everything and above all her disease. Then the incredibly touching letter she writes for her husband. And the scene in the shop was clearly the show climax. It’s at that moment that we become aware of everything. We become aware of the decesivness their first meeting was for both of them. We become aware of the link they have with their relatives that are present for them until the end. We become aware of Choi Chul-Soo’s affection and all the love he has for Kim Su-Jin. And there we are! The valves are opened: do not take only one or two tissues…the entire box is needed!

EKEKDKDKDK-horzI wasn’t bothered by korean cause I got used to it pretty quickly. However the OST can disturb some people. I was so into the movie that I didn’t really notice it the first time. But it is true that some of the music -especially “La Paloma” that we hear several time- can fail the movie’s atmosphere. The movie is korean from A to Z, either it is the sceneries, the actors or the language used in the movie. “La Paloma” sounding rather like a mediterranean music, I can easily understand that you may found it a little dissonant. But on the other side, there are also some beautiful music that perfectly  matched the moment they accompany.

I agree A moment to remember does not necessarily deserve the 10/10 I gave it but I was so surprised to be that moved and touched  that I could not, not give it the best grade.



Note de MacadamBaby : 10/10
Note de Whoovy : 8/10
Note de Dushbadou : 8,5/10
Note finale : 8,75/10


 

 

