Tags

, , , ,

You’re all Surrounded (너희들은 포위됐다)

by Dushbadou

You're_All_Surrounded-p1

Synopsis: Eun Dae Gu, Uh Soo Sun, Park Tae Il and Ji Gook- otherwise known as the P4 -are the new recruits in the violent crime unit at Gangnam Police Station. None of them dreamed of becoming a detectives. They are lead by an erratic and hot headed Seo Pan Suk who wants nothing more than to wash his hand off of the incompetent new recruits.
Source: dramalist

Information:

Country: South Korea
Episodes: 20 episodes
Genre: detective, drama, romance
Aired: May->Jul 2014
Network: SBS
Duration: 1hr
Casting: Lee Seung Gi, Go Ah Ra, Cha Seung Won, Ahn Jae Hyeon, Park Jung Min….


A brilliant casting and numerous genre mixed in one drama, what’s more to be say? Winning combo. But I don’t know if it’s because I had too much expectation or not, but I ended up feeling a bit disappointed. I think it could have been way better on the whole. In my opinion the romance was kind of boring and badly written, the investigations in the first episodes were not really thrilling and the comic wasn’t really satisfying (but the main plot was amazing!). I had mixed feeling all along the episodes. Would it have been too serious and therefore not that entertaining without this touch of humour? (or maybe it was just me who wasn’t in the right mood).  I was overjoyed and super excited when we were immersed in the Masan school murder’s case and kind of bored when the drama was talking about other things. It was probably the intention of the scriptwriters -not to bore the audience but to juggle between stories in order to increase the suspense and get to know the characters- but it doesn’t excuse the fact that the other investigations, the romance etc… could have been better written. In fact this drama had many up and down. One music could take me to the guts -“Trauma”, “Justice for all”- while another could break the mood (there was one music in particular which kind of sounded patriotic -it’s not in the official OST. It broke so many good moments). One character could turn out less interesting along the episodes while another could revive all my attention for the drama. One mystery could be amazing while another could end up boring as hell cause of a resolution too predictable or one twist too many (for example the end of the Masan school murder. (>>>SPOILER– I was disappointed cause I felt the scriptwriters made this last twist just to surprise us. Sure the first motive was really predictable -the birth’s secret, the jealous woman killing her husband’s mistress- but in my opinion, stronger than the real one. –SPOILER<<<) And everything was like that.

Img0404_20140509194625_5-tileI know that it wasn’t the main subject of the drama just like the firsts investigations were not, but -at the risk of repeating myself- I think the romance was the biggest flop of the drama. I liked how the drama chose to not focus on that point but a bit more chemistry between the characters would have harmed no one. Eun Dae Gu and Eo Soo Sun  never -not even once!- managed to win my heart (for their defense I was watching Witch’s romance at the same time and I have to admit that it did them no good).  Plus the scriptwriters send some contradictory signs. I’m not sure if it was really their intentions or if it was just my imagination (actually I’m pretty sure it was just my imagination since I always tend to see romance where there is none) but for me there was a slight attraction between Eo Sun Soo and Seo Pan Seok. The thing is that it lasted only on a couple of episodes and then completely disappeared. It could have challenged a bit more Eun Dae Gu and Eo Sun Soo’s romance (Ji Kook was too weak to be considered as a rival). The second romance ( Seo Pan Seok and Kim Sa Kyeong) was better even though almost nonexistent since Kim Sa Kyeong was barely on screen. I liked it cause they had an interesting past history together but their reconciliation was kind of unnecessary (unnecessary but I was glad to see it nonetheless).

Key point of the drama: the character
Img0404_20140523163051_1Eun Dae Gu (Dae Gu Dae Gu> Am I the only one to think that it’s a good name for a dog?)- played by Lee Seung Gi- charmed me as soon as the drama started. Anti social, sullen, insolent look…I think this role really matches Lee Seung Gi. Both his play and look managed to give life to his character. Actually I think it’s one of his best role so far. But because it’s really hard to please me completely, I have to say that -after I had watched the firsts episodes- I grew less and less interested by him. Actually my interest dropped when everyone had discovered his secret and when they all started to help him investigate his mother’s murder case. Me, who is always asking for more friendship and close relation between characters, was  surprised to not like the new felloship that grew between him and the other team member. I preferred when he was all alone and mysterious (I know they couldn’t make his secret last forever but they revealed it too soon in my opinion). The only relation that I liked with him was the one he had with Seo Pan Seok.

Img0404_20140528095320_1Seo Pan Seok (Cha Seung Won) was my favourite character. If I didn’t appreciate how the new detectives became closer (well just Eun Dae Gu with the other) it wasn’t the case for Seo Pan Seok. I loved all the relationship he had. How he nagged Eo Soo Sun for being a girl, how jealous he was of Park Tae Il’s relation with Kim Sa Kyeong, how lovely he was with this latter and above all his conflictual and in the same time almost paternal relation with Dae Gu. Everything about his character was well written and Cha Seung Won’s performance was flawless. It was the first time I was seeing this actor in a drama and I think it won’t be the last.

Img0404_20140528133713_1Eo Soo Sun (Go Ah Ra) was one of the character I liked the less. She wasn’t particularly badly written but she could have been so much more. In the firsts episodes  I had the feeling to see the same Go Ah Ra from Reply 1994 (same body gag, funny faces, way to be snubbed by other). It wasn’t unpleasant but I’d have liked to see her in a role a bit more serious and substantial. Just like Eun Dae Gu I finally lost my interest for her little by little. Her character started to crack apart when she discovered the truth about him (like almost every character! damn! I love mystery and secret too much^^)

pohwi20-00392Ji Kook (Park Jung Min) and Park Tae Il (Ahn Jae Hyeon) were not particularly memorable. I kind of liked their “bromance”…I think (?) but they were cliché. A duo composed of  a handsome, smart guy and of a not that good looking nor smart one. Ji Kook made me completely indifferent while Park Tae Il was a disappointment. They hot things up about his character. Created a secret. But they gave us a non satisfactory resolution. I expected way more. And what was his romance all about? (with Kim Sa keyong) O_O They gave us lots of elements but never took the time to develop it and that was a bit frustrating.

I’m not going to talk about the bad guys of the story cause it would reveal too much of the drama but on the whole I loved all the characters that were directly related to the Masan school muder’s case (except for Jeong Dong Hwan  –Nine, Heirs– ‘s character. But good point for him: for once it wasn’t his performance that I didn’t like but rather how the scriptwriters had written his character).

Img0404_20140520191431_1-tile

To conclude, I had the feeling that the scriptwriters were at first stretching the story as much as they could. Beginning differents plots at a slow path to give us the time to get to know the character… to finally completly botch the end, letting some elements half and badly developed. This was a good drama but I couldn’t enjoy it as much as I would have liked because of those few flaws. That’s too bad.



Note de Dushbadou: 7/10
Note de Whoovy: 7/10
Note finale: 7/10

