Tags

, , , ,

Fall In Love With Me (愛上兩個我)

by Dushbadou

Screenshot_2014-03-31_21.41.03

Synopsis: Lu Tian Xing is a prodigy in Asia’s advertising field. Rich, famous, and mightily successful, he suddenly announces during a press conference that he will be taking a three-month break from the advertising life. With a simple disguise, he transforms himself into “Xiao Lu.” Enter Tao Le Si, a young woman who promised her late brother to protect his advertisement agency and his legacy. Unfortunately business never picks up and Le Si had to battle with Tian Xing to stop her company from being sold. When Xiao Lu enters her office doors, Le Si initially thinks that he’s Tian Xing but the two men’s personalities are complete opposites. Le Si finds herself drawn to Xiao Lu’s warm temperament, but will their love last once she discovers the truth of his identity?
source: dramalist

Informations :
Country: Taiwan
Episodes: 20
Genre: Comedy, Romance
Aired: 2012
Network: SET TV
Duration: 1h15
Casting: Aaron Yan, Tia Li, Lee Jack, Fang Beatrice, Yo Evan etc…


Screen shot 2014-07-16 at 10.25-tile

This drama was like a roller-coaster. I enjoyed it despite its numerous defects. The romance was written in a very clumsy way. All the events were forced, botched and rushed. Ep 4…I think the following scene summarized quite well what the drama was all about.
Synopsis: Tao Le Si goes to a warehouse instead of her colleague cause this latter had -of course- a crappy reason to not go. Lu Tian Xing finds her phone in the meantime -cause obviously she had lost it, giving him a good reason to go see her *cough*. “What can we do afterwards?” asked scriptwriter n°1. “mmmh..” replied scriptwriter n°2 “Oh I know! Let’s magically break the phone’s warehouse to prevent our hero for getting outside help, cut the network and make the owner deaf! Like that Tao Le Si and Lu Tian Xing are forced to spent the night together alone!” “Oh good idea and let’s make Tao Le Si afraid of creepy objects in order to rush her in Lu Tian Xing’s arms in a non subtle way!” The director suddenly butting in: “That’s perfect! It gives me a good pretext to make our hundredth slow motion on the couple! And this time let’s make it lasts a whole minute! Good work team!”…Once you’ve seen this scene, you’ve seen everything.
Am I dreaming or was the whole story written by teenagers in lack of romance? And this is only ONE example among hundred more. The only goal of the scriptwriters were to make our little heart fluttered by multiplying scenes where the hero and the heroine found themselves face to face, almost kissing *oulala, sexual tension*. I would have had honestly nothing against that if it had been 1 or 2 times but no! In each episode you had 15 scenes like that. The scriptwriters were total control freak. Always dictating our feelings by either trying to get the tears flowing (ep 2 when the old actress met her family she had not seen for years and the whole film crew is moved to tears *get your hankies ready*…not predictable, nooooo) or by writing mushy scenes like I heretofore described. I didn’t even know if I had to cry or laugh in front of such script. But paradoxically, I got used to it and enjoyed (really enjoyed) the show to the point I could watch 2 episodes in a row without problem (hard to believe, but true!). The first part of this drama had serious defects but it was bearable.
The other half on the other hand…around the 12th episode… I never though it possible to massacre a story like that. What was that all about??

anigif

I think I should have quit the show while I was still in good term with it but the problem is that I don’t give up easily. We are immersed in a story totally different from the first one. 180° turn of event. Hello pathos! You had not miss me but I guess you had on your side, and that’s why you wasted the little fun I had. And for what? For challenging a main couple that wasn’t even yet a couple in the 13th episode *thumbs up* We witness to the hatching of plain second character into awful monsters. (look at that crazy face on the right! we lost him I think)

4453_17-horz

The Huan Huan and co! (that’s weird to start by the villain but since I’m at it, let’s keep on!). Their obsession to get married Huan Huan with Lu Tian Xing had no limit. Their claim of doing that for the happiness of this latter, was completely ridicul! (seems like their dictionary is quite different from mine cause I don’t see how you can be happy by knowing that you’re destroying the life of the one you love by forcing him to be with you). Huan Huan becomes an evil bitch witch at lightning speed. She is manipulated- and in the same time not so much…lots of free-will in her behaviours- by her brother Lance who only cares about not losing the company to Lu Tian Xing (gosh I really hate business matter). All of this reinforced by a mama who only encouraged her evil children to keep on their schemes (noooormal). Those characters were a step too far. We could clearly see the scriptwriter pulling the strings behind, creating a sort of Romeo&Juliet background by using them, in order to make our heroes suffer and sacrifice themselves for one another. One word: PA-THE-TIC.

On the main lead side it wasn’t brilliant either.

62691bd39ae1ef9e31a2966250e750ae-vertI was quite sceptical about how people could not notice that Lu Tian Xing and Xia Lu were the same person but let’s put that on hold cause after all, it’s the magic of dramaland: in this world characters are inherently blind when it comes to see the true nature of someone. Plus scriptwriters still tried to give two really different personalities to both facets making it eventually quite believable even though that was not in the least original (Xia Lu: the innocent cute and super nice guy VS Lu Tian Xing: rich, arrogant, cold sort of sexy guy). Which one did I prefer? Well if it was in the real life I would have obviously chosen Xia Lu. But in dramaland I have the regret to say that Lu Tian Xing was more interesting (even though I don’t like Aaron Yan with his hair up haha). A too perfect character is boring and that was more or less the case of Xia Lu. He had no flaws whereas Lu Tian Xing…a whole different story. First of all he had to chase after the girl to get her (and man, it took him some time!) which automatically lead to some sexy attraction (even though the effects -slow motion and repeated plan with crappy scenario- were not the best): push and pull. That’s my favourite part in romance. If this tension is not present (like in the Xia Lu- Tao Le Si romance) the drama quickly goes in my boring list . Secondly he had a secret: Xia Lu being also him. Who says secret says “suspense” (how is he going to keep it hidden, when the truth will be discovered, how will they react?). I actually, totally loved when Lu Tian Xing realized that by creating Xia Lu he got himself into deep troubles (specially since Tao Le Si fell in love of Xia Lu and not of him “as a whole “*aïe aïe*). Lu Tian Xing appeared weak, lost. A good point for us spectator, who could finally catch a glimpse of Aaron “true” acting (?). Aaron was really good at playing the tortured guy who cried and suffered. Not as good when it came to play an arrogant jerk (unfortunately for me he played this role 3/4 of the time). His performance seemed SO fake. His move were extremely overdone. I don’t think Fall In Love With Me was a good drama to discover him. I was quite dismayed by his overall poor performance (doesn’t mean I became one of his anti-fan…I think I’ll have to judge him after seeing other dramas). Anyway let’s go back to the character itself. The scriptwriters soon transformed him into a martyr to my great despair. We fell into deep melodrama, seeing Lu Tian Xing sacrificing himself because of his remorse toward Xuan Xuan. His sense of guiltiness pushed him to accept to marry the witch of the story *nooooo*. Could have been a good “twist” if it had not lasted on so much episodes.
That’s easy. The last episodes were a competition between Lu Tian Xing and Tao Le Si of whom will be the one sacrificing himself/herself the most. Once again PA-THE-TIC. Clap clap scriptwriters!

Screen shot 2014-06-13 at 12.22.53 PMTao Le Si…it’s going to be hard to not be mean. The most plain and frustrating character I’ve ever seen. She seemed to constantly bear all the weight of the world on her shoulders. Tiring for herself but above all tiring for us. To summarize everything was her faults. So infuriating.
Her second main flaws was her slowness and inactivity. I really hate when a romance works only in one way. That was the case here. She didn’t even once chase after the male lead! Well she eventually did it…when the guy wasn’t available anymore! duh! And the worst was that she changed her mind overnight. Sometimes I wish I could enter dramaland and give a good slap to characters like her you know, to wake them up earlier.
As for Li Tia’s performance that wasn’t particularly bad contrary to all the bad comments I read about her. Sure that wasn’t amazing but her performance bothered me less than Aaron Yan’s one. Her face was too frozen. We didn’t get to see many expression from her (if not none) and I think that’s why she received so many mean comments.

Screen shot 2014-07-11 at 12.25.23 PM

The supporting role were nice without being particularly unforgettable. Miao Miao was the characters for whom I had the most sympathy. Her romance with Wang Ting Wei was refreshing (I was happy to see her get over Leo) even though their happiness contribute to worsen the all pink and rosy end (aish!). Jia Gai Wian and Helen were more annoying cause the scriptwriters tried too much to make of Jia Gai Wian  the funny  character of the drama…and that didn’t really work, honestly.

checking-his-temperature-tile

I had no expectation when I started Fall In Love With Me. Then I got some when I saw that I was enjoying it that much (let’s forget the childish writing of the scriptwriter). Getting hopes up make the fall even more mortal. Unfortunately for me that was the case here. I emerged from this drama completely wounded. In short I would say this drama “is worth” the watch for the 12th firsts episodes (if you’re ready to be bombarded by lovey dovey teenage scenes), the ost and Aaron good looks. The rest is only for the ones who like to waste their time.

large

You’ve been warned! niark niark



Note de dushbadou: 5/10
(I’m putting the average note cause I can’t deny the fact that I enjoyed the first part of the show)

