Tags

, , , ,

Bad Guys (나쁜 녀석들)

by Dushbadou

8TRJEYH8GIB1HW5AUJYB_1024x0

Synopsis: To combat rising violent crimes, the Police Chief asks Detective Oh Goo Tak to form a team consisting of criminals. Detective Oh Goo Tak gathers team members: Park Woong Cheol who is a gangster, Lee Jung Moon who is the youngest serial killer with extraordinary intelligence and Jung Tae Soo who is a contract killer. Also, Police Inspector Yoo Mi Young joins the team. She tries to have the guys work as a team by dealing with them rationally and sometimes emotionally.
source: dramalist

Informations :
Country: South Korea
Episodes: 11
Genre: Crime, action, thriller
Aired: 2014
Network: OCN
Duration: 1hr5
Casting: Kim Sang Joong, Park Hae Jin, Jo Dong Hyoek, Ma Deong Seok, Kang Ye Won, Kang Shin Il, Kim Tae Hoon etc…

french version


I thought I would put a 10 out of 10 to Bad Guys cause I had high expectations and the synopsis/trailer/casting seemed really promising. Overall it met most of my expectations. The genre displayed by the OCN channel is my favourite from far, and Bad Guys respected this thematic beautifully. We faced a complex drama built on a strong and well written scenario which mixed crime (careful some investigations were quite gross), actions (lots of fights youhou!) and thriller.

16-tile

The scriptwriters brought an interesting topic on the table: where does the limit stand between beasts and humans? This boundary seemed quite thin here. We see a whole reversal of things. Those that we believed to be beasts revealed to be more ‘human’ than some others who standed for justice. This approach and the doubts the scriptwriters passed on to us helped to maintain the suspense and kept us on our toes. One of the couac that prevented me from putting a 10/10 was that the criminal behind the whole case was eventually too easy to guess. But they made up for it by building a really good explanation behind all those murders (>>>SPOILER- the reason given to justify Prosecutor Oh Jae Won’s crimes gave me goosebumps– SPOILER<<<)  I always fear with that kind of drama to be eventually disappointed by the end, by the solution but Bad Guys managed to come out of it pretty well.

All the character were really well developped. I enjoyed every stories and actually really appreciated that time were equally given to each one of them.

3Oh Goo Tak, former detective, was given the mission by a high commissioner to catch bad guys. The country knows a rise in term of violence and unresolved crime. This latter decided to release three criminals of the worst kind in order to catch those culprits. This was quite an original and funny decision. I was impressed by Oh Goo Tak sharp tongue and the violence liying inside of him. What happened to him to be that full of hate? With Lee Jong Mun he was the character the most intriguing. He made my brain ran at full speed.  His hatred towards Lee Jung Mun was intense. Sometimes I suprised myself swearing against him (he had no concrete evidence against the guy and still sticked to his beliefs…I guess he really deserved his surname -mad dog).

BadGuys02-00082a-tile
Kim Sang Joong was amazing in this dark role. He knew how to strike a chord (the most amazing scene was when he discovered his daughter’s body. Heartbreaking). But paradoxically he was also the actor in which I found the most flaws. By saying it like that, it seemed like I found dozens of defects about him but let me reassure you, that wasn’t the case. I just wanted to point out that he was more believable and moving in this drama as a disillusioned and broken person than as a happy one. We don’t get to see much of this side so it is in fact not a really important matter… let’s move on.

26I thought Lee Jong Mun would be from far my favourite character. Every news seemed to praise Park Hae Jin’s character and his acting (well I must say this latter deserved all those praises cause his play was remarkable. Hard to believe that it was actually the same guy than the one in You Who Came From The Stars!) but he was actually quite different from what I had thought (from what was displayed in the trailers too). The thing was that his character was too easy to read. And that was probably why I was kind of annoyed by Oh Goo Tak’s obsession about him. I was also a bit disappointed by his abilities. In the first episode he was presented as one of the youngest and smartest serial killer of nowadays. But we actually didn’t get to see that much of it. I was expecting some Sherlock effects to display his great intelligence but we were given only half of his capacity. I thought it was a bit of a shame.

24Aahh Jung Tae Soo, here’s the man! I really loved his character (contract killer oh yeh!). He had for me the most interesting past story and he had so muuuuuch class I must say. Even though the other ones also seemed to reflect on their acts, I felt it even more with him. We  saw  pain and guilt through his actions, maybe even more than in the other characters. I loved how bound he was with the woman whose life had been destroyed by him. However I was a bit disappointed by the reason he gave her to justify his crime. It was too weak in my opinion. I wish the scriptwriters could have written a better reason (well there aren’t any valid reasons to justify a murder in theory but some seem more “rightful” than others).

15Would Bad Guys be a thriller without a fine dose of gangsters? I don’t think so. Park Woong Cheol, impressive with his big arms and fits (the more I watched the drama the bigger his fits seemed!). Under his swearing and tough appearance this guy was kind of warm. I really liked how we got to see his affection for his “hyung”. Even after being half buried by him he ran to rescue him. What stopped him from smashing Lee Jong Mun’s face near the end? His beliefs in people. I think that was actually the most enjoyable part of the show: seeing those four ‘beasts’ getting closer to each other, trust one another. Can bad guys become good guys?

29Yoo Mi Yeong was maybe the plainest character (and the useless one, without being mean). She didn’t thrill me as much as the other ones and I think it was mainly because she had not a role as important as them. In fact I found her quite absent in the drama. She had not lot of screen time and never did anything that could caught my attention. I just felt kind of sorry for her. She believed in justice. She was the only character who wanted to catch the bad guys in a legal way and unfortunately for her, her “naivety”, morality got her tricked by the wrong guy.

>>>SPOILER- Prosecutor Oh Jae Won was really good as a psychopath even though to easy to read like I said before. I thought it was a bit of a shame to see him been so easily tricked by the team at the end while he appeared to be a real mastermind -SPOILER<<<

5-tile

As much as I praised this show it wasn’t perfect. The second main defect of the show was that it failed at making me completely addict to it. I admit its greatness. Hard to do better in term of casting, ost, aestheticism and plot but it missed something (can’t say what). I was more excited by The Three Musketeers than Bad Guys for example even thought the end was a PURE crap (I mention this one cause this was the drama I had watched before BG). That explains the following grade. I advice nonetheless this show to everyone cause even though it didn’t thrill me as much as I would have liked it was a great adventure.
As for having a season 2 I wouldn’t be against it but I feel like they already said everything…having a season 2 would maybe be boring don’t you think?

35

So nice to see such atmosphere!



Note de Dushbadou: 8.5/10
Note de Whoovy: 8.5/10
Note finale: 8.5/10

