Tags

, , , , ,

The Girl Who Sees Smells (냄새를 보는 소녀)

Original: Whoovy
Translation: Dushbadou

0062xcfrjw1es7cu08wcjj31kw11zdu2Synopsis: Officer Choi Moo Gak lost his younger sister to a barcode-murder case and lost his ability to taste, smell, and feel pain. He then meet a girl named Oh Cho Rim, who is the only witness to the murder case and possesses a special sixth sense, which is the ability to see smells. ~ Based on the webcomic “Naemsaereul Boneun Sonyeo” by Man Chwi.
source: dramalist

Informations :
Country: South Korea
Episodes: 16
Genre: Comedy, Romance, Supernatural
Aired: 2015
Network: SBS
Duration: 1h
Casting: Park Yoo Chun, Shin Se Kyung, Nam Goong Min, Yoo Jin Seo…

French version


Since I’ve never been a fan of Shin Se Kyung, this drama wasn’t on my list. But like you’ve probably already noticed, I rarely follow my list to the letter and often start dramas that I had not planned to watch. That’s exactly what happened with Sensory Couple. To be honest, Park Yoochun helped for a bit in that choice.

Img0404_20150514162432_5-tileSensory Couple was a lightweight drama. I fell under the charm of the main couple, forgetting the default of the original plot. The story juggled between rom-com and detective genre. It was a pleasant balance that enabled the drama to keep on on a half-serious, half-comic path, even though the humour was sometimes a bit too slapstick and the romance too cheesy. I also liked the supernatural touch (the whole “I can see smell”) even though that was a bit weird. Those elements were overall interesting but when put end-to-end they didn’t serve the drama rightfully, in so far as they were not all really well-developed. Too bad.

The first part of the drama convinced me more than the second one. The touch of humour was more present and the scriptwriters kept us in suspense (with, for example, the identity of the murderer). >>>>>SPOILER- I don’t think I was the only one to have doubted about the identity of the nice doctor. Let’s say it: this actor as the face of a villain! (or maybe it’s just me who saw him too many times in the role of a villain). All that to say that the scriptwriter tricked me well. I had a hard time figuring out what was his relation with chief Kwon, why two villains hung together…I know, I know I can be quite dim sometimes -SPOILER <<<<<.

doctor-fishy_5219606_GIFSoup.com

The hero bumping into “the villain”+ slow motion + blood= I say: reasonable doubt!

The lasts episodes didn’t affect me as strongly as the firsts ones. In my opinion the drama considerably slowed down halfway through, and even lost its spark (or maybe I thought so because I was watching Falling For Innocence at the same time). The investigation became clumsier and longer. I particularly noticed that at the end of episode 11. The last scene in that episode was beyond stupidity >>>>>SPOILER- I still didn’t get why Oh Cho Rim went to Kwon Jae Hee’s even though she was well-aware that he was the main suspect of the murder’s case. How came she fell into such obvious trap?! I almost shocked in front of her stupidity -SPOILER <<<<< and unfortunately that was the first of a long series. Fortunately the villain played by Nam Goong Min made up for everything.

The other point that bothered me in that drama was the image given to the police. I’ve rarely seen such incompetent policemen -between the guy who believed everyday to be the fashion week and the other one with his Elena Vashilivnashivanova…what a team!

Img0404_20150421151326_4Choi Mu Gak (Yoochun) was -even if not the character of the year- pleasant. Behind his insensitive personality (due to his “disease”), hid a very warm and nice guy. Choi Mu Gak was the older brother everyone wished to have in my opinion. His past with his little sister hooked me. An interesting plot that bound him from the start with Oh Cho Rim. However I was less hooked by how he became in the last episode a rash person. A change which was all the more disappointing as he was the only one with inspector Yeon Mi, to show in the first episodes a consistent reasoning when it came to deduction. I totally got why he wanted to catch the murderer but in my opinion he always behaved without thinking in the lasts episodes (especially in episode 14 when he and his team searched the hide-out of the murderer…the area wasn’t that vast! and there was a big blue canvas sheet right in front of their eyes! how come they didn’t even think to check it? their partner was in danger of death and yet they gave up as soon as they met one little difficulty) and planning crazy plan with Oh Cho Rim whereas they could have simply tracked the murderer one night or do something…worthy of policemen! Anyway I have to admit Choi Mu Gak was still an appealing character overall, despite his defaults. As for Yoochun, this is not a secret anymore: he is really good at playing that kind of role (cf Rooftop Prince, Sungkyunkwan Scandal)

Img0404_20150416154813_5Oh Cho Rim/ Choi Eun Seol (Shin Se Kyung) was a cheerful character but my opinion about her was rather mitigated. I kind of liked her but nothing more. Her character was the most cliché (memory loss, innocence, gullibility, the “I’m sacrificing myself for the one I love” and finally the famous “I’m trusting everyone even the fishiest character of the drama”). She was lucky to have a power cause otherwise, I think I would have had an even harder time with her character. Her relationship with Choi Mu Gak also saved her from my disliking. They weren’t the best couple I’ve seen in dramaland but to be fair, they were cute together. And I liked how she wasn’t the passive girlfriend and always jumped on the first occasion to help Choi Mu Gak. Oh Cho Rim was overall a warm character even though some of her personality trait were too excessive (I think Shin Se Kyung’s performance was also the problem here).

Img0404_20150506132551_3Kwon Jae Hee (Nam Goong Min) was a very enjoyable villain because of its smartness and hotness (not everyday that we have a rational villain who happens to be also smoking hot!). Kwon Jae Hee was thrilling from the first episodes to the last one, thanks to his writing but above all thanks to Nam Goong Min’s wonderful performance. He was perfect in that role. This actors has the power to say everything through one glance. He switched between the different facets of his character with agility. The charming and nice Kwon Jae Hee could be replaced in the following second by the cold and calculating Kwon Jae Hee. Kwon Jae Hee constantly wore a mask hiding his true intention. He was a frightening character, despite the fact that we got to know his true identity fairly quickly. Finally the only thing that was a bit far-fetched -although interesting for the plot- was his incapacity to recognize people’s face (some of the distortion were, to say the least, hilarious)

3-tileApart from those three, the other character -like I already said it above- were not interesting despite the effort of the scriptwriters to make them funny.

Img0404_20150427133832_5The only one that deserves to be finally mentioned is Yeon Mi (Yoo Jin Seo). She had the most important role in the police and was the only one -with Choi Mu Gak- to really do her job. But despite those good qualities I didn’t like her. Yoo Jin Seo played really poorly her role. I had a hard time focusing on Yeon Mi herself because of her. The scriptwriter gave us glimpses of her past so as to draw her and Choi Mu Gak closer. But unfortunately their relationship/complicity didn’t evolve along the episode leaving me completely disappointed. On the other hand that wasn’t for the worst cause who says bigger role says more screen time…and I was far from wanting that, considering Yoo Jin Seo’s poor acting. I’m granting her a few extra-point for the 3 lasts episodes though.

To sum up the main flaw of that drama was its mix of too many genre. Because of that we can’t say that The Girl Who Sees Smells was THE drama of the year…  But that remained overall a pleasant drama for those who don’t expect much of it.

Kwon Jae Hee’s true identity was….

batnam_5219601_GIFSoup.com

The BatNAM



Note de Whoovy: 7/10
Note de Dushbadou: 7/10
Note finale: 7/10

