Tags

, , ,

Kanojo wa Uso Wo Aishisugiteru (カノジョは嘘を愛しすぎてる)

by Dushbadou

The_Liar_and_His_LoverSynopsis: Set within music field, “Kanojo wa Uso o Aishisugiteru” depicts a love story between a 25-year-old sound engineer and 16-year-old high school student Riko, who posessess a gifted voice. Based on a manga~
source: dramalist

Informations :
Country: Japan
Genre: Romance, Music
Aired: 2013
Duration: 1h56
Director/scriptwriter: Nohiriko Koizomi
Casting: Sato Takeru, Sakurako Ohara, Shohei Miura, Masataka Kubota etc…


I wasn’t expecting that much of Kanojo wa Uso Wo Aishisugiteru. I was just attracted by the casting and the genre (romance…I’m really into non-serious Japanese romance these days). I didn’t even know it would be a movie about music! That was actually the best surprise. Kanojo wa uso Wo Aishisugiteru tells the story of a songwriter who falls in love of a high-school girl. She will be the one giving him back his taste for music. The story was as simple as that. That might seem a bit boring in itself, but for the making, the writing and the acting, Kanojo wa uso Wo Aishisugiteru was worth the detour in my opinion. I fell in love of each character, each songs, each pictures, each details displayed throughout the whole movie.

tumblr_nshnfsxdMj1qmeijao4_r2_540-horzThe romance was not in the least flashy. It was simply written and never made me feel sick because of unwelcomed cheesy or dull scenes- even though I admit to have been, at first, a bit sceptic about its writing. Riko and Aki’s first meeting was rather funny and clumsy. It was therefore a bit weird to see them starting dating immediately after their encounter- especially since they already seemed to have deep feeling for each other. They did mention ‘love at first sight’ but something still felt wrong for me. In my opinion the scriptwriters had only taken an unnecessary risk by shortening that much the ‘I’m growing in love of you’ part. Fortunately the theme of music came shortly afterwards, making me forgive for a short time that clumsy writing. It was actually that subject that finally made me start believing their love story. It came just when needed and brought some interesting point to the plot.

tumblr_mu2wt8PQGw1qey5f2o4_1280-tileI loved how the world of music was depicted, without embellishment, through Aki’s character. Music is an art for some people, but for other it’s just an industry. When we take a closer look at Aki’s character, he seems actually rather cliché (the tortured songwriter who comes to hate music because of its industry). Yet he never gave me that feeling throughout the film. I utterly loved his inner-turmoil, his fight for true music, his lies to protect himself and his desire to be known for himself and not for his music. His character counter-balanced in the end the first clumsy draft of the romance. Riko’s character on the other hand brought the freshness needed to the movie. She was the cement necessary to the romance. She had not what it took to be a heroine but that’s what I preferred about her. She was simple and thanks to that feature, she was the one who in the end, gave a ‘realistic’ and believable dimension to her story with Aki. Both Sato Takeru and Sakurako Ohara did an amazing job in their respective role, filling their gap years quite easily. A nice interpretation!

Kanojo wa Uso o Aishisugiteru made me feel at peace during its watching. I wasn’t asking for more. It was both a pleasure for my eyes and ears. I can only advise you to give it a shot.

Riko:”It tastes like lemon”…*kiss*… Aki:”Hum, Maybe it does”

Puss-in-boots_BBBuzz-06

Can you taste mine too?



Note de Duhbadou: 8.5/10
Note de Whoovy: 7.5/10
Note finale: 8/10


