Tags

, , , ,

Oh My Venus (오 마이 비너스)

by Dushbadou

VLQ2yzv3_36953e_f

Synopsis: Kim Yeong Ho is a personal trainer for Hollywood stars. Even though he comes from a wealthy family background, he suffered a devastating injury during his childhood days. Now, he overcomes his problems with patience and stubbornness. Kang Joo Eun is a 33-year-old lawyer who has struggled to support her family. Now, she’s overweight and not so attractive.
These two had a connection when they were younger. Now as adults, they meet once again. They both go on a diet, which leads to them becoming healthier and having a romantic relationship.
source: dramalist

Informations :
Country: South Korea
Episodes: 16
Genre: Comedy, drama, romance
Aired: 2015
Network: KBS
Duration: 1hr
Casting: So Ji Sub, Shin Min Ah, Yoo In Young, Jung Gyu Woon, Henry, Sung Hoon etc…

French version


Oh My Venus was a plain drama. I knew from the start that it would be the case and if So Ji Sub and Shin Min Ah had not been the main leads, I would not even have given a shot. Right from the beginning the plot displeased me. Though I was perfectly aware of the subject I didn’t like how they portrayed and almost mocked -through exaggeration- Kang Joo Eun’s “obesity”. I’ve never really liked this kind of humour and unfortunately the firsts episodes of Oh My Venus were almost only about that, from what I remember. But that point wasn’t the only one bothering me: the scriptwriter -in addition of using gratuitous humours- didn’t even try to make her story slightly original. She reused the classic rope of every rom-com in dramaland, leaving us with a boring plot.

2_1-tile

She did try, at some point, to make it a bit more exciting with a twist, but for me it was poorly developed as it came a bit out of the blue and she cut it short. The villain (if we can call him like that, considering he barely appeared before that episode as he was everything but important) was filled with remorse right after his action, nipping the twist in the bud. That could have been forgiveable if at least she had kept the same pace as the one used in the first episodes, but no, as if it wasn’t enough, she also cut short another “important” point of the drama: Oh Soo Jin and Kang Joo Eun’s quarrel. Within five minutes she solved everything with no further development. It was as if the past episodes had not existed: Oh Soo Jin and Kang Joo Eun suddenly became best friends again, leaving no hope for other twists. As a result the last episodes were completely useless. In fact the romance was the biggest problem of the drama as every attempt of spicing the story were sunk by it (I could barely remember from one week to another the family and business’s matter about Kim Yeong Ho, to be honest). But, as paradoxical as it’s gonna sound, it was also its main strength – even though it killed all hope of propelling the drama in the unforgettable category. If I managed to survive Oh My Venus, it was mainly thanks to Kang Joo Eun and Kim Yeong Ho’s cute relationship (even though it was rather repetitive). I loved their chemistry -which easily gave life to their couple- and all the sexual wink-wink.

anigif

I also liked how Kim Yeong Ho’s behaviour didn’t change as Kang Joo Eun was losing weight. He fell in love of her when she was chubby and didn’t suddenly showered her of compliments when she became all thin. I loved how in that way, the beauty standards changed along the episodes. Being fat was not directly linked to ugliness anymore but to health, as Kim Yeong Ho’s was always saying “being healthy is sexy”. That could have been a hidden way to still say the same thing (fat=unhealthy=ugliness) but through Kim Yeong Ho and Oh Soo Jin’s character the scriptwriter managed to completely erase the part about being ugly just because you don’t match the world’s beauty standard.

anigif1Kim Yeong Ho (So Ji Sub) was rather unpleasant at first. He embodied the mainstream hero of dramaland. He was just a cold dude who revealed himself to be the heir of a big company. He was most of the time condescending towards Kang Joo Eun and even possessive. I can’t say that I was seduced by that authoritarian feature to be honest (your body is mine and because of that I can kiss you…I’ve seen more romantic). Fortunately that first draft disappeared when Kang Joo Eun and him began to date. I liked how he easily melt in front of her dimples and smile, how he became a cute and warm boyfriend. He didn’t change completely for all that. He still had this tight-ass personality when he came to sports but it brought more fun to the show than anything else.

anigifKang Joo Eun (Shin Min Ah) was a refreshing heroine even though not an unforgettable one. She was a strong and determined woman. As long as she was setting her mind on something, she could do it (I would have died doing Kim Yeong Ho’s training if I had been her!). She was also adorable. She was actually mainly (to not say only) that. Her every expression towards Yeong Ho were filled with cuteness. I normally dislike that kind of heroine cause they make me want to puke but strangely, here, her relation with Yeong Ho just brought smiles on my face and never (or at least rarely) annoyed me. Kang Joo Eun was in other word a rather ordinary girl. She had a hilarious, running imagination, and philosophies (doing whatever you want from time to time) that you could only applause.

aOh Soo Jin (Yoo In Young) could have been the most interesting character if she had been more present. In the first episode she played a rather important role as she was the mean girl meant to challenge the heroine and help the story going forward (the scriptwriter needed someone for Im Woo Sik so as to let Kang Joo Eun go towards Kim Yeong Ho). But unfortunately that was also the most boring period of her character. It was only when she started to be finally interesting with her “disease” that she went more and more unnoticed -her and Im Woo Sik for all that matter. A shame.

imageIm Woo Sik (Jung Gyu Woon) was one of the character with the weakest writing. The scriptwriter depicted him as a common bastard who had two timed his fat girlfriend and finally broken up with her after 15 years of relation. And as if it wasn’t enough, she even went as far as making him jealous of Kang Joo Eun’s happiness after their break-up. That could have been a clever move (though I would have hated it) if she had persevered on the same path. But no, overnight she made Im Woo Sik propose to Soo Jin, by making us believe that he had always loved her -her and only her! hmm not really believable (or at least she should have showed Woo Sik’s true feelings towards Soo Jin a bit better so as to make us swallow the pill a bit easier). Anyway Im Woo Sik was the most useless character. He wouldn’t have been in the drama that it would have been all the same in my opinion.

Kim Ji Woong (Henry) was the character supposed to bring freshness and humour to the drama. I can’t deny the fact that he sometimes made me smile because of his remarks and teasing but I can’t say that I was fond of him. One reason to that: Henry’s poor performance! I’ve rarely seen someone overplayed that much. That literally hurt my eyes. The only moment where he managed to touch me for a bit, was when he had to express sadness.
Joon Seung (Sung Hoon) was a character pleasant for the eyes but it didn’t bring a lot to the plot. I don’t understand why the scriptwriter bothered writing a story about him (a romance, a past) and then didn’t exploit it more.

3 (1)-tile

Oh my Venus was nice drama, full of humour overall (I liked the allusion made about Sorry I Love You for example). If you’re looking for a flimsy rom-com with good acting, Oh My Venus is definitely for you. If you’re looking for an exciting and well-written romance…well it might be better to go on your way.

My kind of push-ups



Note de Dushbadou: 7/10
Note de Whoovy: 6.5/10
Note finale: 7/10

 

