Tags

, , , ,

Love in Memory (러브 인 메모리)

by Dushbadou

290345139104011774_e2e6a9c8_f

Synopsis: The miniseries follow a couple who have shared an emotionally painful past, but have a chance to rekindle their spark again. Jo Yoon Hee stars as a practical office worker who suddenly finds an opportunity to reunite with her first love, played by Jung Gyu Woon. Unfortunately he’s still not quite all-grown-up.
source: dramalist

Informations :
Country: South Korea
Episodes: 6
Genre: Romance, drama, life
Aired: 2013
Network: CGV
Duration: 10-13 min
Casting: Jung Gyu Woon, Jo Yoon Hee, Choi Won Young

French version


[Drama watched for the Asian Watching Tour offered by the blog Lumière! Asian Drama & Stuff> theme: a mini drama (less than 20 minutes by episodes) ]

Love in Memory was a sweet drama. The simplicity of the writing was its main strength. The plot wasn’t revolutionary in itself (no twists or anything of the sort to spice it) but I liked the approach of the subject. Love in Memory tells a love story between a man and a woman but through memories. Hyun Joo (Jo Yoon Hee) and Man Sae (Jung Gyu Woon) broke up 7 years ago and Hyun Joo is now with another man- Ki Soo (Choi Won Young). But since life is always full of surprise, she runs into Man Sae in a bookshop, without him knowing. His appearance reminds her of their past relation and she decides to follow him through the street and silently observes him from afar. They finally happen to meet up in reality, and start talking about their former life together. We are as a result thrown into their memories, both painful and happy. Within 6 episodes of 13 minutes Love in Memory still managed to convey many emotions in my opinion. The characters were not all easy to read -despite the simplicity of the plot- and I changed my opinion about them several time. I didn’t like the way Hyun Joo acted with Ki Soo for example. I despised the way she kept him away from her heart while the guy showed so much patience. But at the same time I could understand why she did so: she needed to heal her scars all by herself, erase the painful memories she had with Man Sae and create happy ones so as to part away with him light hearted. In the end she made me feel as shameful as Ki Soo -who had followed her throughout the whole drama because of a lack of trust- to have put her morality in doubt.

55-tile

Ki Soo was a character I particularity liked cause he showed from the start kindness toward Hyun Joo despite her coldness. He perfectly understood the situation: he wasn’t the one in Hyun Joo’s heart but was still faithful to her. He was both stubborn (for 7 years he tried to find the source of her unhappiness and never gave up) and really honest with himself. He made me smile more than once with his remarks (“I’m not a lion, I’m a rabbit who doesn’t confront people”) and his insecurity. He was a character pretty simple to understand, allowing us to easily identify ourselves with him. As for Man Sae, the third character, he was a strange lad. It was hard to guess what were is true intentions: did he plan to go back with Hyun Joo if she had not already been with someone else? I’m not sure of the answer. But in the end I liked how he coolly let go of her without complaining. Instead of baking her into a corner, he backed off, perfectly aware that he had not changed enough to match her expectations and personality (starting again would have been a mistake in my opinion). That’s what I loved about that drama: normally when two exes meet each other in dramaland they always get back together but here it wasn’t the case. Love in Memory chose to keep its story logical, close to reality.

24-tile

Love in Memory was in short a poetic and amusing drama. I wouldn’t go as far as to say that I fell in love of it but I spent a pleasant time in front it. If you want to escape reality for a short period of time I can only advise you to watch it.



Note de Dushbadou: 7.5/10
Note finale: 7.5/10

