Tags

, , , ,

Imaginary Cat (상상고양이)

by Dushbadou

Imaginary_Cat-p1

Synopsis: Hyun Jong-Hyun is a webtoon writer and works part-time at a bookstore. He always dreamed of working of as webtoon writer, but he has difficulties due to his stubborn and self-centered personality. He also has a cat named Boggil. He first met his cat on the street during a rainy day. Since then, they have lived together and Hyun Jong-Hyun only opens his mind to Boggil.
source: dramalist

Informations :
Country: South Korea
Episodes: 8
Genre: Animals, friendship, life, manga
Aired: 2016
Network: MBC every 1
Duration: 35 min
Casting: Yoo Seung Ho, Cho Hye Jung, Han Ye Ri etc….

French version


Imaginary Cat was a cute drama with a pleasant concept and duration. The writing was steady and refreshing. I liked how the scriptwriter managed to incorporate some welcomed twists (though they were most of the time not that surprising) to spice a plot that could have been rather redundant with time. And I liked how the drama remained coherent and true to life while being able to bring both smile and tears.

ImaginaryCat03-00246a-tile

I’m sure lots of people could actually relate with Hyun Jong Hyun (Yoo Seung Ho) and Bo Gil’s relation and I loved how it raised awareness among owners and non-owners as to the importance of animals in our life (maybe a bit too much. Sometimes I thought their relation was a bit too exaggerated. For me an animal is important but it should not be considered as a human…and sometimes in Imaginary Cat it brushed past that limit, but well that’s only my opinion). There were no way we could remain insensitive to Hyun Jong Hyun’s love for his cat and Bo Gil’s love for her human -though I’m pretty sure Yoo Seung Ho’s adorable smile had a lot to do in our appreciation of this couple. They were both there for each other when needed and if Jong Hyun saved Bo Gil by taking her under his wing, we could say the same the other way around. As a trainee webtoon writer, Jong Hyun’s life was not always easy, especially after the death of his first love. Bo Gil happened to appear right on time, bringing some warmth to his empty existence. I actually loved how they portrayed that cat: I loved how they made her sassy at time, playful and weak.

anigif

In the end the only point that I didn’t like in that drama (in addition to the cat’s voice which was a bit annoying at time) was the element disrupting Jong Hyun and Bo Gil’s relation: Oh Na Woo (Cho Hye Jung). I wasn’t against the idea of a romance between the two main leads. I actually thought that it would be good for the story. But I was wrong! Oh Na Woo’s character was more annoying than anything else. She was always busybody and wormed her way in Jong Hyun’s life shamelessly. Her excuse: being a cats’stalker lover, meh. She also cried a lot, which was frustrating. I don’t know if it was supposed to, somehow, melt our little heart by making her cute but that didn’t work on me. Plus…I can’t say that Cho Hye Jung’s performance helped her character. I can’t condemn her, as it was my first time seeing her, but one thing for sure: I might think it twice before starting another drama with her. Her play was so…dull and exaggerated that in the end I’m not sure whether it was or not a good idea to make a “romance” between her and Yoo Seung Ho (the only point I liked about Cho Hye Jung was her look which reminded me somehow the one of a little cat. She perfectly matched the drama in that way).

ImaginaryCat05-00262-tile

Imaginary Cat was to sum up a pleasant and original drama. It wasn’t addictive or anything, but it somehow lightened my days and the other dramas I was watching at the same time.

tumblr_o10c53drdl1u0xc99o4_500

The moment when you ship more the lead with his cat than with the heroine



Note de Dushbadou: 7.5/10
Note de Whoovy: 7.5/10
Note finale: 7.5/10

