Tags

, , , , , , , ,

My Love Eun Dong (사랑하는 은동아)

by Dushbadou

1438183113

Synopsis: Top actor Ji Eun Ho hires ghostwriter Seo Jung Eun to write his autobiography in 2015. Eun Ho is tense, irritable and difficult to work with, but Jung Eun finds her assignment fascinating because Eun Ho claims he began acting not because he wanted to become a star but because he thought being in the limelight would help him find his first love, Ji Eun Dong. Eun Ho and Eun Dong’s complicated romantic history has spanned two decades, and he’s convinced that he can never love anyone else.
source: dramalist 

Informations :
Country: South Korea
Episodes: 16
Genre: Romance
Aired: 2015
Network: jTBC
Duration: 1hr 5
Casting: Joo Jin Mo, Kim Sa Rang, Kim Tae Hoon, Kim Yoo Ri, Baek Sung Hyun, Yoon So Hee, JR etc….

French version


[Drama watched for the challenge 1 month=1 rule 2016 offered by the blog Books & Dramas> February’s theme: watch a drama with the word ‘love’ in its title]

One thing for sure My Love Eun Dong won’t go down in dramaland’s history. I don’t know if it’s because I had too much expectations or not, but overall I was disappointed. My Love Eun Dong didn’t leave a striking impression on me, right from the beginning. I was actually shock too see such awful jump cut (it wasn’t just one! there were at least 10 of them. It was worth true amateurishness) and even came to wonder if it wouldn’t be better to quit the drama before getting too much into the story.

19-tile

But I believe in second chance and therefore kept on. Fortunately the making and editing of the following episodes were flawless. But, as there was always something bothering me in that drama, it was now the turn of the story to not be my cup of tea once that first problem had been solved. It was really hard for me to get into it. They were too many elements keeping me away from the characters and the plot: awkward acting, cheesy characters, mushy ost and finally a story highly predictable. Everything seemed to be in the excess and no supporting role in sight to interrupt this stifling romance. I started gaining interest only after the 4th episode, as the plot was getting slightly thicker -though the scriptwriter had still a clumsy way to reveal key informations, making the drama not of a better quality. I eventually got accustomed to the characters and started feeling something else than just indifference for them. I actually liked how the scriptwriter tore me in two between Eun Ho and Jae Ho. I couldn’t choose a side as both of them had attenuating circumstances serving their cause. Even if in the end they both ended up annoying me, I finally felt as if I had taken an active part in my watching. On the other hand the romance, which was probably meant to be beautiful, didn’t hook me. It was too Romeo & Juliet like as it was one obstacle after another. I didn’t mind all those twists in themselves but I minded the high degree of predictability. You could easily guess each one of them 5 episodes before they were actually happening, and if there is one thing that I particularly hate in dramas it’s truly that.

50-tile

Plus, the main couple didn’t convince me. I couldn’t help myself to have negative vibes about them. Instead of sympathizing with their cruel fate, I found them rather selfish and heavy-handed. That put me in a weird situation cause I knew that I was missing the whole point of the drama by feeling that. But what could I say? From the beginning I didn’t believe in their love story. I don’t know if it was because of the age difference (why did they choose a kid and a teenager for Eun Ho and Eun Dong’s young version?) or simply because Eun Ho seemed to only have brotherly feeling for Eun Dong but in any case, their couple didn’t work. Why make us believe that both of them had fallen in love at the same time when it wasn’t the case? it was clear for me that Eun Dong had feeling for Eun Ho way before Eun Ho had any. The scriptwriter didn’t give me the right amount of informations right from the begining, leaving me -as a result- rather cold towards them for the rest of the drama. There was only one moment where I liked their interaction (>>>SPOILER- when Eun Dong finally remembered her past with Eun Ho and went to spend the night with him -SPOILER<<<): ONE moment! pretty weak for a plot only about love.

16-690x400Eun Ho (Joo Jin Mo) was the worst character for me. He was too capricious, too jealous, too insistent, too authoritarian. It was rather consistent with its original writing as Eun Ho was introduced to us as childish and obstinate. But the thing is, that I don’t like that kind of character in general. He was stifling with his undying love. On the pretext that he had suffered and waited for Eun Dong for 10 years, everything had to fall right into his lap as soon as he had found her. I hated how in that way he forced himself on Eun Dong, leaving her barely enough space to breathe. Considering her situation I would have liked to see him act more gallantly and fight for her with more patience. Eun Ho was the main reason keeping me away from the romance in other words. I had such a hard time sympathising with his sufferance, which seemed at time rather exaggerated! Fortunately the scriptwriter had created, on the other hand, a villain who had done many wrongs, making my first judgement swayed. Cause otherwise I would have rooted for Jae Ho till the end.

tumblr_nrkj67PGdF1qf8nkao1_540Eun Dong (Kim Sa Rang) was the character who in the end annoyed me the less. It’s a good thing in itself but I think it was rather because I was too busy disliking the other characters than anything else. She was rather plain all in all, but I remembered to have liked her overall behaviour. She was stuck in a very difficult situation and still dealt with it with rationality (especially concerning the issue about her son). I actually liked how she could shut Eun Ho’s rashness down when needed. Everytime she did I wanted to applause her! In short she counter-balanced rather well the other characters, despite her own sufferance (if we think about it she was the one having the most reason to go crazy).

tumblr_nrkj67PGdF1qf8nkao2_540Choi Jae Ho (Kim Tae Hoon) was a roller-coaster kind of character. He made me go through lots of emotions. Despite being a true bastard, I couldn’t hate him -probably because he eventually paid the consequences of his lies and selfishness. I could feel his misery and Kim Tae Hoon’s performance reinforced my sympathy for this character. The most painful was I think when he confided in Eun Ho’s sister about his situation with Eun Dong cheating on him with another man, before knowing that they were siblings. Seeing him lose everything little by little, made me dislike Eun Ho even more. If in the end the scriptwriter had not turned the tables by making him less and less likeable I would have rooted for him till the end, like I said before. But the thing is that he handled the situation with Eun Dong in a pretty clumsy way. Even if it was a foregone conclusion that he would not be able to retain her at his side, he drew her away even faster with his violent reactions and words. I didn’t like how he blamed everything on her while it wasn’t exactly her fault if he had ended up paralysed, and I couldn’t understand how he thought that no one would ever know the truth about his lies. But overall he was still my favourite character (I’m sure no one as ever said that about him before me^^)

20150512_135454_3557.jpg.tn580Jo Se Ryeong (Kim Yoo Ri) was the most useless character. She was more annoying than anything else. She always interrupted the story at an untimely moment while I could not less care about her. She was supposed to be the one challenging the main couple but the thing was that, Choi Jae Ho was more than enough for that. Besides at what time do you tell yourself that destroying your crush will make him love and come back to you? This is the stupidest move you can do. Korean characters have a weird definition of true love: when they should back off to see their crush being happy (cause after all if he/she is happy, it’s supposed to make you happy too), they almost always do the exact opposite, hoping that it will turn the tables in their favour…Someone should teach them how life truly works in my opinion.

20150702_092558_7932.jpg-tile

My Love Eun Dong was far from being the worst drama I’ve ever watched, despite all my critics. But I can’t say that it was a pleasure to watch it. I was rather glad to finish it and be able to start another drama -which will hopefully excite me a bit more than that one.

anigif.gif

Well I have to admit one thing: they sure know how to kiss in that drama!



Note de Dushbadou: 7/10
Note finale: 7/10

