Tags

, , , , , ,

Cheese in the Trap (치즈인더트랩)

by Dushbadou

9212e975b39864464ca41e8a3033ecff

Synopsis: Having returned to college after a year long break, due to her family’s poor background, Hong Sul, a hard-working over-achiever, inadvertently got on the wrong side of Yoo Jung, her senior who is athletic, good looking, gets good grades and has a kind personality, but also a hidden dark side. From then on her life took a turn for the worse and Sul was almost certain it was all Yoo Jung’s doing. So why is he suddenly acting so friendly a year later?
source: dramalist

Informations :
Country: South Korea
Episodes: 16
Genre: Romance,  comedy, manga
Aired: 2016
Network: tvN
Duration: 1hr
Casting: Park Hae Jin, Seo Kang Joon, Kim Go Eun, Nam Joo Hyuk, Lee Sung Kyung, Kim Hee Chan etc….

French version


Cheese in the Trap was more disappointing than what it had first let me think. I never really managed to get properly into the story, though the plot in itself wasn’t what we could call awful. In the beginning I even though it to be rather interesting as it portrayed the life of Korean students at the university. But in the end it revealed itself to be just a sweet plot and not much else. It quickly became dull and the constant back and forth in the romance became quite annoying as it was always the same thing. Plus it was without counting the random twists to victimize Hong Seol, which for most of them completely failed on me. I haven’t read the manga, therefore I can’t tell if that adaptation was or not faithful. But the thing was that in my case, I would have actually preferred a writing a bit less manga-like.

33-tile.jpg

The secondary role were real drag (apart from Kwon Eun Taek and Bo Ra who I really liked!). I understand that they were necessary to the plot so as to play with Yoo Jung’s character, but come on! did they had to go that far for that? Baek In Ha -who had already been a real pain throughout the whole drama- was the main one to suffer from the scriptwriter’s lack of inspiration, to not say craziness (I’m not even mentioning Min Soo and Oh Yeong Gon who were pure drag too, though they did try at first to make Oh Yeong Gon’s character a bit… rational (?)). When I heard the numerous critic about the end of Cheese in the Trap, I didn’t want to believe it, but unfortunately for me it was in great part justified. I don’t understand what happened to the drama. Why did they make such open ending? Why Park Hae Jin almost completely disappeared near the end whereas he was the main lead? Since I had long stopped caring about the drama it didn’t struck me as much as some other people, but I was a bit flustered. In the end Cheese in the Trap fell from a “nice, though not that exciting to watch” category to a “well I’m glad to have finally finished it!”

28Hong Seol (Kim Go Eun) was a rather ordinary heroine -not that I could complain of, though. I actually liked that feature, as I could quite often recognize myself in her. Who like attracting people’s attention for nothing? Who wouldn’t go berserk, when people are always taking advantage of you? I could totally relate with her feeling and therefore greatly sympathize with her. I liked how, in fact, the scriptwriter decided to not create a weak heroine, always crying for the hero’s help. Though Yoo Jung was always sticking his nose in her business, she didn’t really need his help to defend herself as she often took the initiative to deal with her own problem on her own. It made the whole concept of victimisation more bearable. I also loved how she dealt with the love triangle. She made things clear as soon as Baek In Ho confessed his feeling and put some distance with him. I was glad to see that, cause god knows that heroines in dramaland tend to beat around the bush with guys, making it extremely unfair for them.

10.pngYoo Jung (Park Hae Jin) was the most intriguing character from the whole drama. I really liked how the scriptwriter played with his personality until the end. BUT what I less liked was the poor reason the scriptwriter gave to explain his behaviour. They did try to make us understand that Yoo Jung had had a difficult youth with his dad thinking him incapable to do well in life without being supervised by other or people always taking advantages of him. But the thing is that, it was way too weak for me to explain his deviousness and coldness towards other -even after telling us that he kind of inherits that from his dad. Therefore I couldn’t sympathize -not even a bit- with him. That’s too bad cause it could have easily become a good character if his writing had been less botched.

29.pngBaek In Ho (Seo Kang Joon) was a likeable character though not an unforgettable one. He was in many way similar to Seol and I became easily attached to him with his constant nagging and teasing. Though I was a bit disappointed to see him turn into the third wheel of the story (I had my doubt about it, but at first it wasn’t that obvious as his feeling appeared quite late in the drama), I still liked how he dealt with that situation, how he didn’t become a drag nor pathetic. Plus he had his own story backing him up, making his love for Seol quite secondary in my opinion -which wasn’t to displease me, on the contrary! I’m not quite sure what to think about the last twists related to his character though (his debt toward a gang), but Baek In Ho was overall a nice lad.

35.pngBaek In Ha (Lee Sung Kyung) was, I suppose, the character meant to make us laugh with her crazy eyes and taxing behaviour. It didn’t work on me. I found her bloody annoying with her tendency to stir up the shit everywhere she went and her obsession for money. Despite the little effort the scriptwriter tried by creating a story for her, she was uninteresting to the max. Fortunately she kind of repented about her actions near the end, making her climbed back in my judgement.

Kwon Eun Taek and Bo Ra were nice second lead, as I previously said. I liked how Bo Ra never minced her words just to defend Seol (though sometimes she was too big mouth. But that was necessary when it came to rivale with Lee Da Yeong) and how Kwon Eun Taek was always all sweet and caring with Bo Ra while playing the right card in the push and pull game of every romance (if Bo Ra didn’t want him as a boyfriend, it was only normal that he went somewhere else). In the end I almost cared more about the development of their love than Seol and Yoo Jung’s one.

22-tile

Cheese in the Trap was certainly not a good drama in my opinion. It wasn’t all rubbish either, for all that matter. I just wished the scriptwriter and PD had not messed up with the original story and casting. But what is done is done.

ezgif.com-crop

Time to move on now!



Note de Dushbadou: 7/10
Note de Whoovy: 8/10
Note finale: 7.5/10

 

